New birds added on Jan. 3rd 2010 for my Carbon Free Big Year

Today was a memorable one with 20 new species added. Starting out I heard a Varied Thrush calling near my gallery. Next was Spotted Towhee on the hill out of town. After that I was VERY surprised to see a very early Tree Swallow coursing over the marsh at Gospel Flats. Below it were the 3 feeding Greater White-fronted Geese that have been around all winter. Next it was off to some private land where I ticked off my 100th species, 3 female Hooded Mergansers. Pine Siskins along Pine Gulch creek were added and the Red-breasted Sapsucker that has been glued to the large willow at the Pine Gulch Creek bridge was, well, glued to the tree. Zipping up the lagoon I had a flock of Bushtits when I heard a Sapsucker calling. I squeaked it in and was delighted and a bit surprised to see that it was a juvenile Yellow-bellied Sapsucker!!! Next it was a Whimbrel at the north end of the lagoon followed by Western Grebe, Common Goldeneye and Pied-billed Grebe. Down by the elementary school I added Long-billed Dowitcher, 4 Eurasian Wigeons (!) and a  couple of Spotted Sandpipers. Moments later I found two male Blue-winged Teal that have been around for quite awhile but I had not had the pleasure of meeting these fine ducks as of yet. After breakfast in Stinson Beach with my bride, I headed Back to Bolinas where I found an Osprey at the north end. It was back to the gallery. Later in the day I added California Gull and Herring Gull near the Bolinas Rod and Boat Club. This brought me to a total of 115 species in 3 days.

One thought on “New birds added on Jan. 3rd 2010 for my Carbon Free Big Year

  1. (tried to email via site but it bounced back, just fyi…)

    Hey Carbon-Free Keith – I just might put your (Jan 3) blog post in the Weds Hearsay, unless you tell me to cease and desist. but it’s kinda cool…

    Steve
    heilig@sfms.org

    —–Original Message—–

    Keith’s 2010 Carbon Free Big Year « Bloggerhead Shrike
    By Keith Hansen
    A CFBY originates and concludes from a single location, in my case, from my home in Bolinas, Marin County, California, USA. I can only count species that I see or hear, while venturing out from this “home” location under my own power. …
    Bloggerhead Shrike – https://thebloggerhead.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

