Humming Along with my Carbon Free Big Year

Yesterday I added yet another species to my ever growing bird list. I noticed a very aggressive “orange” Hummingbird that was tearing things up at the gallery. I remembered that Rufous tend to, (at least at my gallery feeders) be very aggressive toward all other Hummers, seemingly much more so than Allan’s, who tend to be much more mannerly. So I quickly grabbed my scope/video camera combo and quickly zoomed into and onto the outer two or three tail feathers while the bird put down on the fountain for a nice bath. Sure enough this was a “2010 model” Rufous Hummingbird by the greater width of those all important outer tail feathers. #208

One thought on “Humming Along with my Carbon Free Big Year

  1. This is impressive. What would be even more impressive would be an oxygen-free big year. How many birds could you see while holding your breath for an entire year?

    Either way, dude, you totally rock!

Leave a Reply

