# 213 A Good’n “N” Deed

Today I received a call from the caretaker of the Bolinas Water Treatment Plant. He informed me that he had seen 3 “phalaropes” today at the ponds. So, after a long day “over the hill” I headed up there on my bike to see what I could see. Well, there weren’t any phalaropes to be found but I was happy to see 1 Northern Pintail and 12 Northern Shovelers, my first back for the fall. So, I came back to the gallery. As I was locking up late this evening, at around 7:30, I saw a large and robust warbler fly low over the barn and dive into the neighbors backyard, but not before it gave a loud and distinctive “CHINK” note! Well, I had a pretty good idea as to what it was! I slipped around back and peeked into their back yard and heard the warbler calling repeatedly, “chink, chink, chink”. I gave a high “squeak” call and the bird came out into view after a couple of long moments. Sure enough, it was a Northern Waterthrush. The bird came very close to me and I kicked myself or not having my video camera. So, I bolted back to the gallery and snagged the magic box. Within a few seconds, I was back at the spot and the darn thing was still calling. So I repeated the squeaking and BAM, the bird blasted into a beautiful fruit tree and gave me a 2 or 3 minute view of it! I got some great video of the bird. The first thing that I wanted to do was to rule out the much more rare, Louisiana Waterthrush. The overall buff yellow and tapered eye-line and cream colored underparts, as well as the fact that it bobbed its tail more in an “up and down” fashion rather than in a “sideways, sashay swish”, were great features for Northern. In addition this bird did not have a large bill and the typical “bubble gum pink” legs of a Louisiana. This was the second one for my gallery and of course was a new carbon free species being #214 for the year.

2 thoughts on “# 213 A Good’n “N” Deed

  1. Congratulations on #214!

    Can you help me out on nest identification? I’ve got a newly found pendulous one, about 7″ long, entry on the side, made out of all kinds of interesting soft stuff, a couple long thin twiglets extending from the top, My first thought was oriole, but someone (not a out-and out expert by any means) suggested kinglet. My various nest books aren’t helping out, and neither has the Web so far. But maybe you can tell me a good place to go.

    Abigail Johnstom

Leave a Reply

